On March 30th Facebook will perform a mandatory upgrade of all profiles (including business pages) to the new Timeline. Whether we like it or not, we’ll have to learn, yet again, how to set up and use the new interface.
The Facebook Timeline is a new, revamped layout that changes how others look at your profile. This new view will allow you to highlight photos, posts, and events. Because there is a plethora of well-written articles with great information on how to upgrade your profile, I have sifted through to give you the highlights and the links to other articles that will help you be ready for the upgrade.
To start, check out what the new Timeline will look like and offer. Facebook has done a good job of letting you know what the new setup will look like. Please take a look at the Timeline introduction
. To start the upgrade, just click on the "get timeline" button on the bottom of the introduction page.
I have always said that you should have big, large photos on your website to help tell a story. Looks like Facebook was listening and as you can see with their new timeline, you can put in a great big picture, called a cover photo, on the top of the page. Way to go Facebook! Here are some pointers on picking that large cover photo as well as some rules Facebook has put in place. http://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=276329115767498
Some key sizes (in pixels) to make a note of:
- Cover Photo: 851x315
- Profile picture: 180x180
- Thumbnail image for apps: 111x74
- Highlighted and Milestone images: 843x403
- Images within wall posts display as 404x404
If you are not able to get to your Facebook page before March 30th, your page will automatically be upgraded. I suggest logging into your page and go to the Admin Panel button, then to the manage tab and you will be able to edit your page and make the necessary updates to make it look good.
Here are some good articles on the new Timeline.
You can run, but you can’t hide from the upgrade to the Timeline. You only have a few days until you will be upgraded. Use this time to tinker with it to get it looking just right before others see it. Whether or not you choose to upgrade yourself, your profile will be changed over. But rest assured---you will not lose any of your content. The biggest changes, in general, are that the timeline will now be a visual journal of your life, or business, and the new format of the admin panel, which will appear at the top of the page, will only be visible to you. All in all, you’re not alone.